Top Gear – Speeding down the pan!


Who was watching this weeks Top Gear?

Despite coming under increasing criticism about making the show topical and in the license fee payers interest, they continue to go even further out of their way just to fill an hours slot of nothing more than them going on a stupid jolly, and putting others at risk in the process.

I try to make sure that my blogs aren’t a moan or a rant, but I’m afraid on this occasion, I’ve let myself down. They opened the show with an article comparing the new Audi R8 Spider V10 with the Porsche 911 Turbo Cabriolet. As interesting as it was and I do love the glamour of top end cars, this really isn’t going to help me in deciding what my next car should be, at least not unless I win the lottery. The remaining 50 minutes of the show were filled in by these three idiots driving their ‘home made’ campervans around the Cornish countryside, with a brief break for the star in a reasonably priced car.

I’ve been a fan of the show for years and have stuck with it, even through all of the pointless stunts and under par journalism over recent years, but I really do think it’s time to turn over. How this is still rated as THE number 1 motoring show in the world. Is this really what motoring fans the world over want to tune into? Where are the reviews of the new cars, showing us the car technology of the future, or best deals on nearly new cars? No, they’d rather spend a fortune racing to the North Pole or playing conkers with caravans being dangled from cranes.

This could be the end of the road of my viewing loyalty, at least until they swap out these three egos for some real motoring coverage.

Rant over, thank you and good night 😉

About ChrisV

My name is Chris and I'm from Sunderland in the North East of England. My interests are varied which you will probably see on here over time but I do find it hard not to rant, so while I will try and keep my blog topical and interesting, there's still a fair chance that I may well jump up on my soap box from time to time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top Gear – Speeding down the pan!

  1. lupalz says:

    I stopped watching that show for this same reason some time ago. It is fairly useless and only mildly entertaining. All content is completely irrelevant, even if my interest was purely in sport cars.
    Don’t watch much TV but managed to catch one or two episode of a show called Fifth gear (not sure what channel was on, maybe Five, commercial one anyway) and it was full of reviews and info relevant to the average motorist. Even the stunts (nothing as outrageous as Top gear’s) had a purpose.

Leave a Reply

