Wind assisted exercise


Having just booked my first holiday in 3 years, I’ve made the difficult decision to cut back on the food that I love so much and embark on a little exercise to try to get my self ship-shape for a week in the sun. More so this year as I have a little one to run around after, so the last thing I want is a big flabby belly hanging over my shorts while I’m squatting down to play with my daughter. Whilst the extra bulk would have been a concern in years gone by, it’s never been as obvious as I’d have spent most of my day on my back, soaking up the rays.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve not become a fitness freak overnight. It’s been some time since I’ve even come close to that, so I am easing myself in gently, but also aware that I only have 10 weeks to lose the lard. So what am I doing? Well, trying my best to cut out the ‘treats’ from my diet, but mainly just taking a sensible approach and not eating between meals. On the other side, I’m trying to get out running twice a week, around 4 miles at a time and aim to do a set or two of press up and sit ups each morning, which leads to one very important question…….

Is it possible to do sit ups without letting off a little pump?

I genuinely feel that it is not! Each time I start my routine, I try to make sure I’m as prepared as possible but I can guarantee that before I get to the 10th rep, a little bottom burp has escaped from my derrière. If it is possible, please tell me what I need to do to drop this element from my routine. It’s not so bad in the privacy of my own home, but not so good if I’m at a gym.

On a serious note, I am hoping to lose around 14 lbs or more in the 10 weeks I have left. I once would have thought that to be a breeze after previously loosing 28 lbs in just 6 weeks in preparation for a holiday, but that was a long time ago when I had a lot more energy and a lot more time to burn it up.

Fingers crossed that I make it so I can save the embarrassing holiday snaps that we’ll be looking back on in years to come.

About ChrisV

My name is Chris and I'm from Sunderland in the North East of England. My interests are varied which you will probably see on here over time but I do find it hard not to rant, so while I will try and keep my blog topical and interesting, there's still a fair chance that I may well jump up on my soap box from time to time.
This entry was posted in fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

