The iPad is ordered


Ok, so it’s not that topical anymore, especially given the recent launch of the iPhone 4 but I thought I’d share my reasons for purchase.

Ever since WWDC2010 I have been debating over what my next Apple purchase should be. I have an iPhone 3G 16GB and in the hope that there may be a UK operator offereing a data plan that could be shared between the iPhone 4 & the iPad, i thought I would wait it out. Also, i tend to be a SIM free purchaser of the iPhone as i dont like being tied to a contract so I’ve had to wait even longer to wait for the release of the PAYG deals from the UK operators.

During this waiting period I have changed my mind on countless occasions. I love to have the latest gadgets but unfortunatley dont have the wallet to support this love. Having now seen the iPhone 4, which is a bit of a stunner, I have decided to opt for keeping my iPhone 3G on a very reasonable pay as you go deal, and treat myself to a 32GB iPad, WIFI only.

So, why did I not go the whole hog and get the top end 64GB with 3G. Firstly, it’s the cost. It’s only a short step from that to a very nice Macbook which is a very nice offering, although not really a fair comparison. This, in addition to the fact that I am saving to move house shortly would lead to a very disgruntled Mrs V, who by the way, has little interest and sees even less value in spending hard earned cash on nice tech such as this. The other reason I’ve opted to go ‘middle of the road’ is that I have my iphone for 3G connectivity and having recently assessed my usage, it’s mostly over WIFI anyway. Do I really need 64GB? Well, I’d like to have it but I dont think I really need it. How may movies do I really want to carry around at any one time, and when will I honestly find the time to watch them anywhere. Between a busy job, a 21 month toddler and a love of golf, I’m not really left with that much time on my hands. So, 3G out and chopped the memory down to 32GB and I’m £200 better off already. That should help iron out my spending with Mrs V.

Also, I’ve decided to just stick with my iPhone 3G. It’s a bit battered and bruised so I wouldn’t get much if I were to sell it on and it still does what I need it to do. This time I’ve been strong and resisted the urge to by the next model, simply because it is the next model. Dont get me wrong, I recognise the leap forward from the 3G to the 4 and I still would like a one of my own, but unfortunatley that may have to wait a little longer!

If there’s anyone out there who still hasn’t had their fill of iPad reviews, I will be posting my thoughts here once I’ve had the chance to get to grips with it.

About ChrisV

My name is Chris and I'm from Sunderland in the North East of England. My interests are varied which you will probably see on here over time but I do find it hard not to rant, so while I will try and keep my blog topical and interesting, there's still a fair chance that I may well jump up on my soap box from time to time.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The iPad is ordered

  1. Life According To RODA says:

    I got an iPad on release day and Ive never looked back!! Whats genius about iPad is that you can do anything that you would with a laptop (obviously not Flash based things) but instead of tapping on keys you’re tapping on glass, which is truly something spectacular. The noise it makes it immense. It’s like Minority Report.

    Plus, some of the best apps from Apple are out for iPad. StarPagga gets a immense boost with the iPad screen, and Pulse News Reader is a great aggregator of RSS feeds.

Leave a Reply

